Wesak day celebration in 2012

Just like previous years, Ben and I celebrated much of Wesak day at the Buddhist Maha Vihara temple at Brickfield. We usually arrived in the late afternoon to avoid the traffic congestion due to the float procession. At the temple, we gave offerings, lighted the oil lamps for ourselves and my family, and then waited a couple of hours for the float procession to begin. Since this year I had with me my new dslr camera, I spent most of the time practicing my photography skills while Ben waited idly, observing all those things that were going on around him.

Here are some of the photos taken on that day:

The float procession started an hour late and we only left the temple around 8pm.  I was told that the Malaysian Dogs Deserve Better with their dogs were joining the procession and would be waiting at the YMCA.  When I reached the junction to YMCA, I didn’t see any dogs or a group of people with dogs. Nevertheless, I did see a couple of dogs along the way. I suspect the dog owners who joined the procession kind of went their own way. In a way, this was better because some people might be afraid to see or walk with a pack of dogs.

 

Although we were exhausted, hungry and thirsty by the time we arrived back at the starting point, I was glad we made it again (btw this was my fifth time and Ben’s third time joining the procession).

Note: All photos shot with Nikon D90 and Tamron 17-55mm f2.8 lens. 

© All rights reserved. 

Leave a comment